Post A: What’s in my garbage?

What’s in my garbage?

                My one-day waste audit

Myaudit-01

Basic steps: conducting a waste audit

Record information (taking photos) > Organize the audit (using Excel) > Review the results > Reflection

Step one:
Record information
First of all, I took photos once I produced waste.
Step two:
Organize the audit
I decided a classification system and sorted all the waste into different categories. Then I used Excel to organize the audit. I measured my waste with items.
Step three:
Review the results
After sorting the data (categories and items) of my one-day waste production, I researched some items and tried to find some useful knowledge about them. For example, I thought disposable coffee cups are recyclable; but after I had researched, I found that most disposable coffee cups are non-recyclable because of the plastic layers inside.
Step four:
Reflection
A waste audit is an effective way to discover how individuals or groups/ institutions/ businesses can recycle more, improve the practices of recycling and being more environmental-friendly.
After conducting my personal waste audit, I realized how much wastes I produced in just a single day; also I learned more knowledge about types and facts of different waste materials.
Also, I researched the waste audit published by EPA NSW in 2015 (link below) and learned knowledge about disposal waste with regional groupings of areas in NSW. I lived in Burwood (as categorized into Sydney Metropolitan Area/ SMA in the EPA audit). From the NSW Regulated areas audit, I found that the SMA area represents the second biggest contributor of total waste production in NSW; and up to 80 per cents waste that sent to landfill are from the SMA area.

2.pic1.pic

*Link:
Environment Protection Authority:
[Disposal-based Audit Commercial and Industrial Waste Stream in the Regulated Areas of New South Wales],
http://www.epa.nsw.gov.au/resources/warrlocal/150187-disposal-audit-overview.pdf

According to my audit, 40 per cents of my daily waste production are non-recyclables, and 30 per cents of them are compostables, which are food waste and food scraps.


Organic Waste items study

-Banana peels
Most people usually just throw away the banana peels into cabbage can; so most banana peels end up in garbage disposal and sent to landfills, produce methane gas, a greenhouse gas which can exacerbate the problem of global warming.
However, I found out there are a lot of potential values of banana peels after I researched.
Benefits of Banana peels in compost/ Banana peels as fertilizers
Banana peels can be great fertilizers for garden plants.
The process of banana compost in a household compost pile can help produce rich organic materials, which can help plants grow healthier.
Ways to compost banana peels
– Put into a compost pile for fertilizers-use
– Directly bury the banana peels in the soil under a plant.
Values of banana peels:
-Environmental benefits:
Natural organic fertilizers, which can benefit plants.
-Sustainability
Reduce the amount of banana peels that sent into landfills, which can reduce methane gas they produce and benefit to the environment.
-Money saves:
Save money from purchasing related nutrients for soil.
*There are other benefits of banana peels that I found online:

Banana_Peels1

*Source: http://www.sustainableamerica.org/blog/bananas

References:
Environment Protection Authority 2015, NSW Environment Protection Authority, EPA, viewed 6 June 2016, <epa.nsw.gov.au/resources/warrlocal/150187-disposal-audit-overview.pdf>.
Leibrock A. 2014, 10 things to do with banana peels, Sustainable America, viewed 6 June 2016, <http://www.sustainableamerica.org/blog/bananas&gt;.

2 thoughts on “Post A: What’s in my garbage?”

  1. The analysis is specific. You separate to different steps, that we can see the detail clearly. The record data of daily waste is specific as well. And have a great research information.

    Like

  2. I like how you divided the sections for this post, it is organised well and easy to read! Also, I totally agree with you about the waste audit is really effective way to discover the information!

    Like

Leave a Reply

